Bootstrap 2019

Conference Date: 
Monday, July 15, 2019 (All day) to Friday, August 2, 2019 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
String Theory


Quantum field theory (QFT) is a universal language for theoretical physics, describing the Standard Model, gravity, early universe inflation, and condensed matter phenomena such as phase transitions, superconductors, and quantum Hall fluids. A triumph of 20th century physics was to understand weakly coupled QFTs: theories whose interactions can be treated as small perturbations of otherwise freely moving particles. However, weakly coupled QFTs represent a tiny island in an ocean of possibilities. They cannot capture many of the most interesting and important physical phenomena, from the strong nuclear force to high temperature superconductivity. The critical challenge for the 21st century is to understand and solve strongly coupled QFTs. Meeting this challenge will require new physical insight, new mathematics, and new computational tools. Our collaboration combines deep knowledge of novel, non-perturbative techniques with a concrete plan for attacking the problem of strong coupling. The starting point is the astonishing discovery that in numerous physical systems, there is a unique quantum field theory consistent with general principles of symmetry and quantum mechanics. By analyzing the full implications of these general principles, one can make sharp predictions for physical observables without resorting to approximations. This strategy is called the Bootstrap, the topic of this three week program.

Sponsorship for this event has been provided by the Simons Foundation.

  • Nima Afkhami-Jeddi, Cornell University
  • Nikhil Anand, Johns Hopkins University
  • Diego Berdeja-Suarez, University of Oxford
  • Ryan Bilotta, Cornell University
  • Simon Caron-Huot, McGill University
  • Miguel CorrelaÉcole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Thomas Hartman, Cornell University
  • Aditya Hebbar, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Yikun Jiang, Cornell University
  • Denis Karteev, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Apratim Kaviraj, École Normale Supérieure
  • Edo Lauria, Durham University
  • Ying Lin, California Institute of Technology
  • Marcco Meineri, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • David Meltzer, California Institute of Technology
  • Carlo Meneghelli, University of Oxford
  • Wolfger Peelaers, University of Oxford
  • Joao Penedones, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Eric Perlmutter, California Institute of Technology
  • Jiaxin Qiao, École Normale Supérieure
  • Slava Rychkov, École Normale Supérieure
  • Edgar Shaghoulian, Cornell University
  • Joao Silva, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Emilio Trevisani, École Normale Supérieure
  • Anh-Khoi Trinh, McGill University
  • Kamran Vaziri, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Pedro Vieira, Perimeter Institute
  • Bernardo Zan, École Normale Supérieure
  • Zarah Zarahee, McGill University
  • Xiang Zhao, Durham University


Scientific Organizers:

  • Leonardo Rastelli, Stony Brook University
  • Slava Rychkov, École Normale Supérieure
  • Pedro Vieira, Perimeter Institute

Scientific Committee:

  • Christopher Beem, University of Oxford
  • Simon Caron-Huot, McGill University
  • Miguel Costa, University of Porto
  • Liam Fitzpatrick, Boston University
  • Thomas Hartman, Cornell University
  • Jared Kaplan, Johns Hopkins University
  • Ami Katz, Boston University
  • Zohar Komargodski, Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Joao Penedones, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • David Poland, Yale University
  • Silvu Pufu, Princeton University
  •  David Simmons-Duffin, California Institute of Technology
  • Balt van Rees, Durham University
  • Xi Lin, Harvard University